California Title 20 Efficiency Regulations

The California Energy Commission (CEC) sets energy efficiency standards in the State of California for various products and appliances including light bulbs.

On January 1, 2018 new efficiency standards for light bulbs manufactured after January 1, 2018 went into effect for three categories of light bulbs:

  • State Regulated LED Light bulbs
  • Small Diameter Directional Light bulbs (SDDLs) and
  • State Regulated General Service Light bulbs

Light bulbs manufactured prior to January 1, 2018 will continue to be sold, and there are several categories of light bulbs that are not part of these new regulations including general service linear fluorescent and incandescent reflector light bulbs.

LEDVANCE is committed to providing our customers with lighting options that meet their needs wherever they live.

California Title 24 Building Standards

The California Energy Commission’s Title 24 regulations outline energy efficiency standards for residential and non-residential buildings.

Residential indoor and outdoor lighting technologies are regulated by Title 24 California’s Building Energy Efficiency Standards. The standards apply to residential, single-family buildings and multifamily buildings that are three stories or less and residential spaces in non-residential buildings.

Title 24 also includes requirements for high-efficacy light sources, commonly referred to as JA8 (Joint Appendix 8). LEDVANCE has several products certified to JA8 and listed on the CEC certified database.